The Aspiration

Aspiration

 

Someone asked what I would be

I said to be a pastor

What I meant was not so broad

I meant a simple preacher

 

Along the way I caught a dream

To be a knowledge master

To engage the minds of the hoards

So I trained as a teacher

 

Was not to be as I snapped

The way ahead did not suit

My mind was blurred for many days

To counsel I then sought

 

No road a head so I felt trapped

No place to learn the route

I then asked “what is the way?”
Preach, or teach, help thoughts?

 

These were my aspirations

The dreams I dreamed at night

And the ways I trod by day

Did not grasp a plan

 

These goals formed a foundation

Though walking without sight

I heard the gentle shepherd say

“A minister to man”

 

I was to pastor souls of men

To preach and teach and counsel

The goal that God had in mind

To speak and really listen

 

Nothing seems to go to waste

But all part of His will

All of the things from which I’d haste

Of future days now glisten

2 thoughts on “The Aspiration

  1. Pingback: pastoral ministry aspirations [1] - GodsGrace

  2. Pingback: Aspiration - Brendon Ward - God's Grace

Leave a Reply

