Daily Prompt: 21st Century Citizen

Do you belong in this day and age? Do you feel comfortable being a citizen of the 21st-century? If you do, explain why — and if you don’t, when in human history would you rather be?

Technology.

That’s why I belong to the 21st Century.  I used to feel much more at home here because of my aversion to hard work by which I mean physical labour.  But things have changed in the last 2 years.  I’ve had the privilege of working in construction.  In order of priority as defined by my job description – administration, logistics, labouring.

It’s the third of those priorities that has made me feel less comfortable as a citizen of this century – even though some of the tools represent cutting edge technology.

But the bulk of my job – I can’t do without 21st century technology. I don’t know how to get places without GPS technology and specially designed mobile apps.  I wouldn’t know how to pay for most things related to my job without the internet or without a credit card built on 21st century banking software.

Part of my job involves managing the company website and associated social media.  I couldn’t do that without 21st century technology.

Then I go home.  Facebook (not that I’m not using it at work); Netflix, youtube, Spotify.

I’ve went without internet once.  I felt quite lost.  I didn’t know how to be a consumer in a world without the internet.

 

Leave a Reply

