God’s Possession and The Fence

Today’s daily prompt is Fence.

I thought I could combine my continued thinking about Colossians 3:12 with today’s daily prompt.

God is the Fence

I am thinking about the word fence in terms of it being a verb.  Speaking of Psalm 139:5, and speaking it back to the Father, I would say “You fence me in”.  Popular English translations translate the word צַרְתָּ֑נִי as “hem” as follows:

“You hem me in, behind and before, and lay your hand upon me.” (Psalm 139:5, ESV, NIV)

I get the idea of a shepherd protecting his flock from wolves and raiders who would seek to drag the sheep away from the protection of the flock and its shepherd.

Because we, as Christians, belong to God, having been purchased by the atoning sacrifice of Jesus on the cross, we are His precious possession (Titus 2:14), He has a vested interest in keeping us from being snatched away.

The Apostle John records Jesus’ teaching on the Father and Son’s dual role in keeping/preserving us.

My sheep listen to My voice; I know them, and they follow Me. I give them eternal life, and they will never perish. No one can snatch them out of My hand. My Father who has given them to Me is greater than all. No one can snatch them out of My Father’s hand. I and the Father are one. John 10:27-30

 

fence

The hemming in process (which is constant) comprises of a fence built by the hands of God – Father and Son.  This fence is ever in place, it is impenetrable, no one can scale it, no one can break through it.  If treasures in heaven cannot be affected by moth and rust, how much safer are treasures in the hands of heaven’s Father?

He owns and possesses us as an ongoing act of His love.  He will not give up what He owns and possesses and so nothing in all creation will separate us from His love – that is, for those who are called by Him, according to His purpose, for His glory.

Leave a Reply

