Daily Prompt: Artist’s Eye

The artist’s eye

Is there a painting or sculpture you’re drawn to? What does  it say to you? Describe the experience. (Or, if art doesn’t speak to you, tell us why.)

Once I went to a Guggenheim exhibition at an art gallery in Dunedin.

My motive had little to do with my love for or proficiency in what many would call “art”.  I never did get the whole draw a bowl of fruit thing – or at least not in a way that would distinguish my art from that of a 3-year old.  My clay boot wouldn’t have fit even the flattest of feet.

I remember the bus struggling in its lowest gear to get up a hill.  It’s that hill I swear travellers must ascend before descending into the hole (literal) that is Dunedin.

I also remember doing some form of printing – the kind that involved a hard rubber roller.

Art is perhaps too broad a classification.  It is said of many things “It’s more an art than a science”.  I once started a Bachelor of the Arts.  The English paper in which I was required to interpret the film Once Were Warriors through the lens of the Treaty of Waitangi – that was a bit arty.  But political science and sociology?  One has science in the title.

English, as a subject to be studied, probably wouldn’t be considered a visual art for which one would need eyes to produce or appreciate.  So in terms of my academic history, I have not exercised an artist’s eye.

Poetry as art

Is there any irony in the fact that there are categories within this website dedicated to poetry?  Is poetry not an art?  That would be the extent to which I possess the artist’s eye.  Beyond that, as far as it concerns the visual arts, I am blind.

I don’t mind

Being blind

To what some call art

I’ve been left behind

What some call sublime

But that doesn’t mean I don’t have an arty heart.

Leave a Reply

